Purple Cow

I never saw a purple cow

I never hope to see one

But I can tell you anyhow

I’d rather see than be one

Cute poem I recall from my childhood.  Silly nonsense rhyme, or is it?  I was born and grew up in the Appalachian Mountains.  I’ve seen just about every color cow in existence.  I’ve never seen a purple one.  A purple cow would be an oddity.  Something extremely rare and unusual.  How many of us stress ourselves out to look, talk, act, dress, even think the same as all our peers?  How much energy and money is spent annually on emulating movie stars, rock stars, sports figures, even politicians?  We have brain washed ourselves into believing in order to validate our place in the Universe, we must strive to be someone else.  Don’t get me wrong, I get it, I see beautiful women everyday and appreciate their “beauty.”  But I don’t want their life.  They have their own problems, issues, struggles, highs and lows.  Plus, I’m also beautiful.  I have my own unique features, attributes and attractive personality traits.  I’m also the total package.  Unfortunately, too many women and men don’t see themselves in a true light.  They think they must be a certain height, weight, or have certain hair color, eye color, wear certain clothes, drive certain vehicles, or live in certain neighborhoods to be successful or feel validated to themselves.

Most people fear being a “purple cow.”  I’m not one of these people.  But, I understand where the fear comes from.  What does being a purple cow offer?  Here is just a short list of what being unique and different offers:

You stand out in a crowd

People notice you in a room full of brown cows

Once you accept your uniqueness, you are way more comfortable in your own skin

Its easier to appreciate the beauty in others instead of stressing over being like them or worse, being jealous.

Its cheaper.  You are only buying, wearing, driving, living what feels good to you instead of constantly changing to keep up with everyone else.

At the end of the day, you’re happier and more content because you aren’t stressed over how some famous person looked today.  You can relax and just be “You.”

Categories: Energy Healing, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, New Age, Psychology, Religion, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Yoga | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Purple Cow

  1. I wish I had appreciated beauty in my twenties as I do now in my fifties. Then I was enamored with what media suggested. Now I see so much more real beauty that I think I must have been blind in my youth. I also would have been much less insecure myself, if I knew then what I know now.

  2. I love your blog! Thanks for this post!

  3. I believe each of us is unique; yet, even those who appear to meet some external standard fear exposure of “purpleness.” Sadly, even the creative act of coloring a cow purple isn’t encouraged. Thank you for your post as the momentarily imagining of accepting purple characteristics as well as creative wanderings was freeing.

    • Katrina

      you’re very welcome. I agree that even coloring a cow purple isn’t encouraged, but it should be, the only restraints on our reality are the limits of our imagination.

  4. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts in this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i am satisfied to show that I have a very excellent uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I most undoubtedly will make sure to don’t forget this site and give it a look on a constant basis.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

