Cultural Sensitivity

All cultures are guilty of some insensitivity to others. Americans seem to be the worst. We not only expect visitors from other countries to think and act American when here in the States, we expect American behavior when we visit other countries. While we are all human and an energy running from source, there are unique differences in all of us based upon experiences, education, birth family, language, spiritual practices and birth country. God Source intended it to be this way.

We use many excuses for our feelings, yet the truth is, we’re being disrespectful.  I once had a job in the hospitality business. We were expected to smile and look every visitor directly in the eyes. Approximately 90% of our guests were American, so this was not a huge issue. We still had that 10% who were of other cultures and I’m sure some were either offended or caught off guard by our seemingly ill manners.

We have many other culturally diverse communities here in the States. Almost every major city has an area where immigrants live, work and socialize with their culture. Some examples of non-American cultural influence are:

Native Americans consider it disrespectful to make direct eye contact unless you are intimate with the person. I’m not speaking of only physical intimacy. Family, close friends, and of course spouses all fall into the category of intimate.

However, in Austria it’s rude to not make eye contact when toasting and clinking glasses.

In some oriental cultures it is bad manners to cross your legs and/or expose the bottom of your feet.

In China it is considered bad manners to eat everything on your plate. It indicates the host didn’t give you enough to eat. You are expected to leave a few bites of each course to show you are satisfied. This is also true in The United Kingdom.

In France you should keep both hands visible at all times during the meal.

These are merely examples of some cultural differences.  With the unification of cultures around the world, I believe it is becoming increasingly important to be knowledgeable, understanding and considerate of others cultural background in order to foster friendship, trust and diplomacy among all peoples.

Leave a comment below of something culturally unique about your family, where you live or your country of origin.

Categories: Cultural Diversity, Energy Healing, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, New Age, Psychology, Religion, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Yoga | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Cultural Sensitivity

  1. “Americans seem to be the worst. We not only expect visitors from other countries to think and act American when here in the States, we expect American behavior when we visit other countries.”

    Us English are the same, actually. God help any poor soul that can’t speak English in London because we’ll just shout slowly at you, taking care to exaggerate every ear-bleeding word.

    I’m curious – where did you hear that it was rude to eat everything on your plate in England? Being English, I’ve never heard that… if anything, the reverse could be considered true. If you don’t eat enough, people might think you only ate some of the meal to be polite.

  2. Katrina

    Actually my grandparents told me about England and not eating everything on your plate, their parent were all immigrants from Europe and spent time in England before coming to the states in the early 1800s. It’s been so long, it sounds like things have changed there, thanks for commenting and letting me know, I sometimes forget how long its been since my grandparents were even alive and then how long before that when their opinions and ideas were formed.

    • It was a different world then 🙂 Even since I was a teenager in the 80’s, think about how the world has changed. I hate to sound like my Dad, but I’ll bet my son would be stunned senseless by life thirty years ago. Ironically, that was partly the point being made to MY generation in Back To The Future in 1985 LOL

  3. {A {colleague|friend|family member|work mate} {linked|referred|recommended} me to {this|your} {website|site|resource}.

  4. I wish to show thanks to you just for rescuing me from this type of incident. Because of scouting throughout the world wide internet and seeing concepts which were not powerful, I assumed my life was done. Being alive without the presence of approaches towards the issues you’ve sorted out by means of this report is actually a serious case, and the ones which could have adversely affected my career if I hadn’t come across your weblog. Your individual skills and kindness in maneuvering the whole thing was important. I don’t know what I would have done if I had not come across such a thing like this. I can also now relish my future. Thanks so considerably for your specialized and results-oriented guide. I won’t hesitate to refer your internet page to any person who would want support about this topic matter.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

