Appreciation

We read everyday about the positive impact being appreciative can have on our lives. I am a firm believer in positive thinking, appreciation, and paying all good things forward.  But this morning I received a lesson in appreciation. I have recently had a minor sinus infection, cold, something, not major and certainly not enough to interfere in my day to day routine. However, yesterday, I either scratched my eye or the sinus issue has spread to my eye, I may have it checked later today.

Many people misunderstand how metaphysics works. It is not a substitute for healers, or medicine (conventional and holistic). It is to pinpoint the underlying emotional/mental/spiritual conundrum which made us sensitive to the illness. For example, the problem with my eye. I need something to help my eye heal. But what deep down inside caused my eye to be weak so it couldn’t resist the attack?  Metaphysically, when we have eye problems, it means we are either afraid to see what is in front of us or we are not seeing something we should. So for the last few hours, I’ve been asking myself, what am I missing or should I see differently. Honestly, I haven’t been able to find the cause yet. But as I am sitting in my office here at home, just like I do every morning, I noticed something, I’ve never noticed before.

In the corner of my office I have a beautiful water fountain. It is approximately five feet tall, with a base full of stones and semi-precious rocks, then there is a stain glass of roses and hummingbirds which the water cascades down into the base of rocks and stones. It makes a lovely sound, has a light which helps illuminate the stain glass at night or when it’s very cloudy.  It’s very beautiful and I really love it. I turn it on everyday and pretty much leave it on all day until I go to bed.

This morning, just as the sun was breaking the horizon, I caught the impression of light from the corner of my eye (the one with the seeping crude). I turned and the sunlight was illuminating the stain glass on my fountain in such a way to make it appear to glow. The sunlight was picking up on the water and bouncing off as if the fountain were alive. As I sat here watching it, my stomach muscles relaxed, I completely forgot about my eye, and for just a few moments was mesmerized by the beauty the sun was adding to the fountain. I saw beauty I already knew existed in a new way and appreciated it more. After a few moments, I thought, I need to get back to work. I have a busy day. So I turned away just long enough to switch to a different internet window. When I looked back, the sun had gone behind the clouds and the fountain looked as it always does, still beautiful yet not as beautiful as with the sunlight.

The lesson? When beauty catches you and holds you, allow it to keep you as long as it wants. Stop the car, stop walking, stop checking e-mails, stop watching television, stop whatever you’re doing. Let the beauty hold you as long as it wants, because it may not be there later when you want to go back to it.

 

Categories: Energy Healing, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, Music, New Age, Psychology, Religion, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Yoga | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Appreciation

  1. i hope your eye feels better. very true about the underlying problem. maintaining constant balance and harmony can be difficult for sure. learning to let go of our attachments and to live in a state of peace has always been the answer for mystics and sages throughout the years, but that can be difficult to attain. hope you have a great day.

    • Katrina

      Thanks, I think I need to have it look at, perfect harmony and balance are a journey not a destination, just like happiness, hope you have a great day too

  2. I agree completely but I especially liked what you wrote about metaphysics – the concept of an eye problem stemming from subconsciously not wishing to see something intrigues me, especially since I had a short period of weird migraines last year. I would see flashes of light, like lightning, in my peripheral vision. After a couple of days of this I called my eye doctor, who nearly called 911 for me because he was so concerned I was about to have a stroke LOL

    He looked at my eyes and couldn’t find anything wrong so we put it down to a migraine and didn’t think much of it. I don’t get traditional migraines – my head doesn’t hurt but my scalp gets weirdly sensitive to the touch and occasionally I get the sparkles in my vision. The lightning was a new one though. I googled it and I’m not alone but it’s weird all the same LOL

    Now I’m wondering what I didn’t want to see…I suspect I know, actually, but maybe that’s something best said in my own blog 🙂

    Thanks for a thought-provoking post 🙂

    • Interesting, because headaches in general can mean you don’t want to accept things going on around you and when they progress to migraine status it can mean you feel driven by these things, or expected to fix (or maybe you expect you to fix) or for whatever reason you don’t want to accept that these things are happening, so if you also had issues with your eyes, this could mean you weren’t wanting to ‘see’ or face the issues going on at that time. The important thing to remember is that when our bodies start sending us pain signals, it can be because we ignored an emotional or spiritual pain for too long (This is not always the case, and I always send people straight to the doctor if the pains become physical). Although when physical symptoms are mild, there are energy medicine exercises which can relieve the emotional / spiritual energy blocks, if this is the case, the physical symptoms usually go away quickly.

      • That’s quite insightful – and helpful – because I feel as though I’ve shut my spiritual side away for far too long. I’m no longer the creature I always wanted to be and it’s time I became that person again.

      • Katrina

        Our Spiritual natures will always find a way, good luck and don’t stress over it, the Spirits are patient, understanding, and pure love.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

