An Appreciation of Vampires

The vampire legend is as old as civilization. There are many explanations for the origins of the vampire legend such as grave robbers, being buried alive, forms of anemia and porphyria, just to name a few. The vampire legend was made famous by Bram Stoker, and Hollywood has romanticized the concept to fit modern day desires. I love vampires as much as anyone. In fact, I’m currently working on a fiction novel about vampires. So, maybe this is a self full filling prophecy.

As you may recall, last week I began having issues with my left eye. Well, I’m still having issues with my left eye. Long story short, after consulting with my own subconscious, my conscious mind, and a doctor, we still have no idea what’s going on with my eye. Best guess is a corneal abrasion, but that is at best a guess.

If you’ve ever had anything happen to your eye, you know the most important issue is light hurts. Period. All day Sunday, I wore sunglasses in the house, kept the drapes closed and cringed every time I came too close to any light. I was actually doing the vampire stance. You know, you throw both hands up to block the light while twisting the front of your body away as you squint and cringe. Yes, I was a constant source of amusement.

The down side of all this is we are having our first really warm spring days. The temperatures topped the low 60s yesterday and it was amazingly beautiful outside. Well, I think it was, as I squinted through pain and the slit in the drapes. Which started me thinking, as wonderful as immortality might be, not to mention the super strength, and psychic abilities, what would it be like to never again feel the sun on your face, or watch glorious sunrises and sunsets? I’ve said in previous posts that while I am a Leo and our governing planet isn’t a planet at all, its the sun himself. I am a child of the night and truly love the moon, stars and galactic phenomena in space. Yet, I’m coming to realize I also truly appreciate slow mornings on the patio with coffee as the sun breaks the eastern horizon. The gentle, lazy evenings with a soft breeze, the smell of our roses, with a glass of wine as the sun bids farewell slipping below the western horizon leaving the yellows, oranges and reds to slowly fade into gray, blue and purple before giving stage to the moon and stars in all their glory.

Yes, I believe at least part of the lesson for me in the eye issue is I need to step back, slow down and appreciate all I see before me. The day and the night, the light and the shadow, the sweet and the tart, the good and the bad. I’ve obviously gotten out of balance, so, I need to relax and allow myself to “see” all I have been given and am allowed to enjoy everyday.

Take a moment today, look around you and then leave me a comment about something you noticed which you feel you should appreciate more.

Categories: Energy Healing, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, New Age, Psychology, Religion, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Yoga | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “An Appreciation of Vampires

  1. I have to admit that I’m a Night Creature myself so there is a part of me that simply does not enjoy the daytime at all. I’d just rather be in the dark. But today is a beautiful, sunny day and for me, taking time to appreciate days like this a bit more would probably be a good idea. This is a great post, Katrina! Being a vampire fan myself, can’t wait to read your work!

  2. Katrina

    Would you like to be a Beta reader for me when it’s done? You get to read the book before it’s published and critique too.

  3. I can relate; I’ve had eye issues all afternoon. My reason was easily figured out, though. Too much smartphone squinting. Hope you get better soon!

    • Katrina

      Thanks, I actually am starting to feel a little better today, yesterday I felt like cyclops,

  4. It’s actually a great and helpful piece of info. I am glad that you shared this useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Michelle

    interesting and helpful

  6. luke

    brilliant

  7. I hope your eye feels better, Katrina. It’s amazing how easily the gift of a form of perception becomes ‘invisible’ to us until it is hampered!! I feel that way about my hearing, which is becoming more and more faint as the years pass. I am really grateful for the gift of Music and the sounds of the voices of those I love.

    • Katrina

      My eye is better, thanks, however, I may have a scar there for a long time, but it’s not affecting my sight, I understand about your hearing, many people in my family have had hearing problems and I know how it affects all areas of your life. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

