Choices

Do you ever sit and wonder about choices you’ve made? Do you ever long to go back five years, ten years, or longer? Do you ever wonder if you made the ‘right’ choice? For the most part there are no right or wrong choices. So unless you were contemplating robbery, murder, rape, or some other major crime against humanity, your choices have all been just that, choices. Each decision is a path we are offered by the Universe. If you had chosen a different path the odds are your life would be different, possibly dramatically different, but it probably wouldn’t be dramatically better or worse. It would only be different.

I will give you an example. Four years ago, I was living in my dream house. It was a three story, all brick, Victorian manor house. Beautiful hard wood floors, high ceilings, ornate wood work, bookshelves built into each side of the fireplace in the formal living room, a solarium, formal dining room with french doors opening into the foyer and living room, nice kitchen, a family room, tv room, three bedrooms, two and half baths, full basement with laundry room, covered porch on the front and entrances off the driveway, kitchen and tv room. My daughter and grandson were living with me. I had a decent job, and was fairly happy. Yet something was missing. There was an empty place in my heart and a hole in my aura. I was happy, I just felt there was more for me. Try as I might, I couldn’t find what I was looking for, the missing piece.

As you all know, I met my spousal equivalent on an online dating site. That was about three and half years ago. I moved fifteen hundred miles to be with him. And it is the best decision I’ve ever made. Do I ever wonder what would have happened if I hadn’t moved here? Yes, from time to time I do, and I admit it’s for very selfish reasons. I miss that house. I miss my daughter and grandson. Did I make the wrong decision? No, this is one of those instances where there is no right or wrong decision. I’ve written posts in the past based on the poem by Robert Frost, “The Road Not Taken.”  Everyday we are faced with choices. Sometimes,they’re major, like mine when I chose to leave house and family to be here with William. And sometimes they’re simple, even silly, like Italian or Chinese for dinner.  The point is this, in life we all come to intersections where we can continue on the road we’re on or choose a new road, a road not taken by us before, a road less traveled by others. The choice is ours and we should travel life’s roads knowing that each leads back to where we came from, yet if that wasn’t satisfying us, why question the choice?

And for the record, I now have a life which would never have been possible if I had not chosen the “Road Less Traveled.” So for me, at the end of the day, William was the ‘right’ choice.

Categories: Energy Healing, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, Music, New Age, Psychology, Religion, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Yoga | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Choices

  1. I can relate. I have had a lot fo choices in my life, and though I do wonder from time to time, I KNOW that I am right where I am supposed to be and every choice I have made, whether it turned out to be right or wrong, good or bad, has led me to right here. If I come to decide that right here is not where I want to be, then it is once again a matter of making a choice. It is just that simple. Great post! Thank you!

    -Cindy

  2. I find it a fascinating mental exercise to ponder… what if? Sometimes I think deja-vu moments are really the moments when the universe is resetting itself and you’re being restored to an earlier time – like playing a computer game and starting the level again LOL

    • Katrina

      I also believe that’s what it is, like a re-do, or a groundhog day, because the Universe wants us to do at least some small thing differently

  3. Mister Rabbitt

    I now have a life which would never have been possible if I had not chosen the “Road Less Traveled.”

    Those of us who are drawn toward the intangible beauty of life are, more often than not, signing this same song. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

