The Irish

Since St. Patrick’s Day is only three days away, the rest of this week will be devoted to something near and dear to me. The Irish. For those of you who don’t know, my maternal grandfather, my hero, the man who taught me to be Spiritual and who loved me beyond reason, this wonderful man was the son of Irish immigrants. Today will be devoted more to him, because I miss him and because as I grow older, oddly I am remembering more and more of his teachings.

He was a Christian, a school teacher by profession and when provoked, he could and did cuss like a sailor. He also had the best sense of humor of anyone I’ve ever met. He laughed, told jokes, could find humor in anything (including death) and I personally believe he may have been the first to actually perfect the ‘silly dance’ long before anyone else knew what it was.

He was also very Celtic/Druid in his beliefs. Everything, trees, flowers, the grass, our vegetables, even rocks and soil, not to mention animals, all had souls and were to be treated with the utmost respect. Children, well they’re just very small people. He was never condescending or impatient. He was just himself, the same with children, dogs, and friends.

Because of him, I have no fear of the afterlife. Long story short, he taught me that the truly strong in spirit can come and go between here and the spirit world. The day he crossed over, he spent the entire day drifting between here and there. He would become lethargic and seem almost gone and then open his eyes and begin telling me all the wonderful things he saw in the Spirit world. I could probably write a book on the conversation we had that day and all the information he gave me. The thing is, our spirits are the energy which keep our bodies alive. Without the spirit the body runs down and stops. After a full day of him leaving his body, it finally ran down and he stayed there.

So, I’m starting my celebration of St Patrick’s Day and the Irish people a little early. For me, it’s a 24/7/365 celebration.

Here is a beautiful musical composition, sit back, relax, close your eyes and imagine the soft grass, sweet flowers, rolling meadows and gentle breezes of the countryside. It truly is a place of fairies, sprites, gnomes and other nature spirits.

Categories: Children, Cultural Diversity, Energy Healing, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, Music, New Age, Psychology, Religion, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Yoga | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “The Irish

  1. Beautiful music composition – thank you for sharing.

  2. Beautiful post, and what a great tribute to your grandfather! ๐Ÿ™‚ Also, thanks for sharing the music. It solidifies how much I want to go to Ireland. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Katrina

      I really want to go to Ireland too, I also would like to see Scotland. Guess I should start a new Bucket List.

  3. That’s really cool, I like that. I’ve always wanted to go to Ireland and one day I will.

    BTW, I love Guinness LOL I don’t know if you ever partake, but the next time you do, say “cheers!” and I’ll raise one for you too ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Katrina

      An Irishman is not drunk as long as he can hold onto a blade of grass and not fall off the earth. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, I drink and my favorites are high end single malt scotch and Irish Whiskeys

      • Ahhh… can’t touch the spirits LOL To be honest, they’ve never appealed. But Guinness…. ah, it’s the nectar of the gods….

      • Katrina

        That’s ok, to each his own, my spousal equivalent, William doesn’t drink anything except beer (and he likes most of them) and occasionally a glass of champagne, I’m the heavy drinker in this house,

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

