Easter Is Not My Favorite Holiday

I’m prefacing today’s blog with a quick, note, this post has been difficult to write.

I’m not saying I dislike Easter, I don’t, it’s just not my favorite. Before I tell you why, let me reveal a little known fact, my degrees in Christian Counseling and Cross Cultural Communications were obtained from a Seminary. Yes, there was a time long ago, when I considered being a minister. I realized quickly I wouldn’t make a very good minister. But that is another story.

I feel we focus too much on Jesus’ death and don’t place adequate focus on his life and ministry.  I have studied many Christian Doctrines and Philosophies. I have studied Christianity from both a historical and an anthropological perspective. I’ve studied just the life, times and words of Jesus.

Based on all written accounts of the man both historically and spiritually He was never mean, abusive, hateful, or intimidating. He was kind, gentle, polite, usually well spoken (even when telling the Priests exactly how he felt about them and when driving the merchants from the temple). He loved children and respected women. As the song says, His Law is Love and His Gospel is Peace. Yet, He was subjected to the most horrific torture and painful death any of us can imagine. He committed no crime and was no danger to anyone. He preached generosity, faith, peace and love.  His death was purely political, but this also is another post for another time.

I don’t watch crucifixion reenactments, scenes in movies or even read them anymore. I’ve paid my dues, I know every mournful detail of His last three days as a mortal. I’ve spent time in Israel. I helped repair a Greek Orthodox church and school damaged by neglect and war. I’ve been to Golgotha, I’ve touched the stone believed to be the stone His body was laid upon to prepare it for burial and yes, there were dried blood stains on it. And I’ve walked the Via Dolorosa. I walked it in the heat, having to push through crowds and watch people going about their daily routine just as He did the day He walked that path.

   This is the Garden of Gethsemane, where He spent his last moments as a free man.  Yet, as I stood there on a hot July day in 2000, I was remembering the man who prepared breakfast for his disciples after His resurrection. The man who said to never forbid children to come to him. A man who prevented a woman from being stoned to death. A man who restored life and hope many times, and left behind only faith,peace and love. I prefer to show my respect by humbly honoring His life. A life which continues even now. So tomorrow, I will think of His life, how He changed the world and what His heart’s desires are for all of us.

I leave you with some light, happy pictures I look at when I need to smile. Because that’s what I believe He wants from us.  My honest opinion is He is a warm, kind, friendly, loving man with a great sense of humor.

      Happy Easter

Categories: Cultural Diversity, education, Energy Healing, Health, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, New Age, Psychology, Religion, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “Easter Is Not My Favorite Holiday

  1. Reblogged this on who is the God of heaven and commented:
    Good post, very well writen,

  2. Well written!! I agree, and I LOVE the drawings of Jesus playing with the children! They are some of my favorites!

  3. fat camp How do you make your site look this good. Email me if you get the chance and share your wisdom. Id be thankful!

  4. Thank you. I too believe that the light and the love of Christ create the path on which we walk.

  5. wonderful essay, i almost missed it, and great poster, thank you 😉

  6. Very well written. While I agree (to a point) that we overemphasize the death( murder, really) of Jesus, if we ignore it we lose the resurection also.

    I think your point is valid though it can be overemphasized. What tends to speak to me is the leadership manifested by Jesus in carrying out his mission.

    Have a Happy Easter.

  7. Reblogged this on Cloaked Monk's Blog and commented:
    Beautiful!

  8. Your post is very beautiful, and it only adds a smile and heartfelt depth to my love for this Holy Day – one of my favorites. 🙂 I think you are right that Christ would want us to linger less on his death and “think of His life, how He changed the world and what His heart’s desires are for all of us.” Right before reading your post, I had read this reflection by Fr. Richard Rohr. I thought what I read in both reflections was very complementary – at least to me! Thanks for your writing! Peace & Easter blessings, Angela http://myemail.constantcontact.com/Daily-Meditation–EASTER—-Easter-Monday–Apr–9–2012.html?soid=1103098668616&aid=Q0dIYxqJLWA

  9. Truly inspirational! I wonder if Easter is really anyone’s favorite holiday. You write about His life and all that he gave humanity, and Easter actually represents Him giving us cause to not fear death, but this cause for celebration is marred by the way He was murdered. We can then turn to the news and see the character of those who crucified Him carries on in this world even today. Perhaps Easter should be a day of celebration, but it is hard.

  10. You actually make it seem so easy together with your presentation however I to find this matter to be actually something which I feel I might never understand. It kind of feels too complicated and very vast for me. I’m looking forward for your subsequent put up, I will try to get the hang of it!

  11. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the web the simplest factor to take into accout of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed whilst other people consider concerns that they just do not realize about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the top and outlined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

  12. Thank you for getting me thinking again!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

