Decluttering aka cleaning out closets

I am borderline OCD sometimes. I love to declutter the house, especially closets and kitchen cabinets. I also tend to throw things away prematurely because of the OCD issue. However, I don’t look at this as a fault, its just part of who I am. I really enjoy decluttering my brain. I love to clean out those closets and get everything straightened up and looking really clean, neat and in order. Okay, right now many of you are asking ‘what?’

Our brains store everything. Every emotion, feeling, idea, impression, everything we see, hear, feel, smell, it’s all stored in our brain somewhere. When we sleep, our subconscious tells us what is most on our minds at that time. We may not think we are ruminating on the things which pass through at night, yet we are. This is why sleep is so important. Our conscious mind has to sleep, i.e. step back and let the subconscious have center stage to clean up and declutter.

The subconscious speaks to us with images, pictures and feelings. Many times when I’m asleep, all I see are just pictures which flip through or float by and of course any emotions which are attached to these images. I call this, my brain cleaning out closets and getting rid of things I no longer need. (Although, nothing is ever really gone, just stored deeper). Then there are the times when I see a truly ridiculous performance played out which really makes no sense but has intense emotions attached. Upon waking I realize there were emotions I wasn’t facing or dealing with properly. This is my brains way of giving me the opportunity to deal with the emotions and dis-empower them so they no longer affect my waking decisions.

Sleep is designed to rest the body and conscious mind while allowing the subconscious to help us address the issues we ignore during the day. Sleep is so important to our mental/emotional/physical/spiritual health it sits at the top of priorities with air, water and food. I personally recommend not just aiming for adequate sleep or the minimum amount, go for more. I admit I don’t always practice what I preach, yet sometimes I do shut down for an evening or even a day and just sleep. I sleep until I’m almost hung over from it. Then I analyze the dreams and subconscious impressions to see what current issues need addressing.

In our busy multitasking world, this seems more a luxury than a health issue. Getting more sleep allows you to be more focused and to pay attention to details while prioritizing your day when you’re awake. Plus it improves your attitude and ability to deal with stress rather than stress dealing with you.

Just an idea to sleep on 😉

Happy Monday Everybody!

Categories: education, Energy Healing, Health, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, New Age, Psychology, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Decluttering aka cleaning out closets

  1. I read somewhere recently that people who get adequate sleep live longer! And I agree that it’s like the brain cleaning out closets – feels like it’s some kind of “upload” to the Divine Intelligence and maybe dreams are “downloads?”

  2. Reblogged this on LargeSelf and commented:
    Thought you might enjoy a post from Katrina which dovetails nicely with my post yesterday:”The Energy of Cleaning Out the Closet.”

  3. Many of my dreams are VERY lucid and revealing. Recently, I dreamed I confronted someone who I KNOW will never provide me with honesty. My dream confirmed this for me. I awoke feeling okay about letting go of my need to get honesty from this person. It’s just not going to happen.

    Also, I always take naps on the weekends, Saturday and Sunday afternoons. It feels soooo good. Now that it’s warmer, I may even be able to nap on my porch soon.

    Great post!

    • Katrina

      I’m a lucid dreamer too, I always pay attention and look for the messages, and I feel off if I go more than one or two nights without deep dreaming, yeah, napping on the porch sounds wonderful,

  4. Great post! Thank you! I, like you, remember my dreams vividly every night, and even sometimes more than one in the same sleep! I’ve always believed in the Power of understanding what your Mind is trying to tell you through dream interpretation, but must be cautious to remember that symbolism is specific to the dreamer is most cases. It’s easy to get caught up in universal interpretations!

    For those who have trouble remembering their dreams, working closely with an Art Therapist, like myself, to understand spontaneous (and sometimes directed) imagery is also helpful in understanding the Subconscious and Unconscious. They reside in the Right Brain, right along with our image storage system and speak clearly to us through Creativity. It really is a wonderful thing, and an amazing Miracle that our brains and bodies function like this!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

