True Spirituality

If you’ve read any of my posts you know my childhood hero was my maternal grandfather. Some of you may recall he was Celtic Irish and he taught me some very Druid/Celtic practices. Yet he was also a Christian and there was no antagonism between the two belief systems. In fact, the practices blended perfectly as if they were the same concept. Because for him they were the same thing.

In his life he was also a door to door salesman while in college, a factory worker during WWII and a science teacher after the war. He was a son, father, husband, grandfather, and friend. He didn’t call himself a Druid, a Christian, or a Free Mason (yes, he was also a Free Mason), he didn’t call himself anything other than Bill.

For most people careers are not who we are, they are simply what we do. Even the roles we assume for family and friends are not who we are, they are pieces of what we offer the world. Who we are is something deeper and more complex. Many people are realizing there is a difference between religion and spirituality, at least in theory.

When we label ourselves, we are naming a role we assume for others. If I say I’m a Christian, I may really be one and the statement is probably a profession of faith. Both of these are good, but I’m still naming a role I  fill for others. True, soul level spirituality is rooted in my core and is automatic in feeling and practice. So, what is true spirituality? Is it something thought, said, done, felt, or believed? Well, yes and no. For me true spirituality is not a profession, role, or moniker. It is simply who I am .

Categories: Cultural Diversity, education, Energy Healing, Health, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, New Age, Psychology, Religion, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “True Spirituality

  1. You always make so much sense Katrina, thanks.

  2. I often struggle to describe my ‘religion’ I was raised a Lutheran, studied Rosicrucianism, Theosophy, Mysticism of various teachers, read just about everyone who has ever written something about the meaning of life. I have an affiliation with Astara now, and usually describe myself as an Astarian – A barer of Light … but how do we describe that in 25 words of less … I am That ! The Tao that can be spoken of is not the Tao…

  3. Wow, I love this. Simply beautiful Katrina. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

