Impossible Dream

I love the song, Impossible Dream, I’ve often thought it has a pseudo-spiritual quality to it, although I can see where it might be considered an ‘all about me’ song too. Regardless of how you interpret the underlying meaning of the song, it stirs emotions deep inside.

Which started me thinking, ‘To Dream the Impossible Dream, to fight the unbeatable foe, to bear with unbearable sorrow, to run where the brave dare not go, to right the unrightable wrong, to be better than you are, to try when your arms are too weary…to reach the unreachable star.’  Isn’t this what we are all doing every day? What dream seems more impossible than the one nearest and dearest to our heart? What foe appears more unbeatable than our own demons? What sorrow seems more unbearable than the sorrow we hide in our hearts? Don’t we all run into our own dark recesses where no one else could find their way? What wrong seems more unrightable than the wrongs we commit against ourselves? Are we not all striving everyday to be better than yesterday? Do we not keep going for ourselves when most everyone else has walked away?

So where is the ‘unreachable star’?  Its inside of us. Its the Eternal connection between our own Spirit and the Divine. We think its unreachable because we feel disconnected and separate from the Divine. But we’re not, we never were. Our physical bodies have created weight which causes us to feel like we’re ‘down here’ and the Divine is ‘up there.’ But the truth is, we are still as connected as we ever were and when we realize this to the extent we allow ourselves to feel it in our bodies and spirits, then we have beaten the foe, laid down the sorrow, run through the dark recesses with courage, we have righted the unrightable wrong and we are our best selves. We have reached the unreachable star.

Categories: education, Energy Healing, Health, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, New Age, Psychology, Religion, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Yoga | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Impossible Dream

  1. Beautiful post and so true. Thanks for the reminder. BTW, I love this song, too. In fact, I used it in a blog post of mine just a few days ago. Great minds think alike! 🙂

    • Katrina

      William was searching for something the other day and found a rendition of it and it started me thinking, (which isn’t hard to do since I tend to over think everything) anyway, the blog just came to me, Glad you liked it

  2. intuitiveone

    beautiful analogy.

  3. There not a day that I don’t enjoy reading your blog. Although, my computer hasn’t been cooperating entirely. I wanted you to know I nominated you for the Versatile blogger award. 🙂

    • Katrina

      I love reading your blogs also, I pick them so I can read them first

  4. Beautiful post!

  5. Wonderful – thank you!

  6. I like this… especially since I’m really beginning to feel as though I have one foot in heaven and one foot on Earth 🙂

    • Katrina

      You always have, you’re just starting to realize it

  7. Each of us quests for the grail, the cup of life, the forgiveness we must find in ourselves so we can be truly forgiving…

  8. “So where is the ‘unreachable star’? Its inside of us.” I love this. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

