Waves in the Ocean

Recently in two blogs I follow Grandfather Sky and life in the blue ridges I found deep and well connected epiphanies. A quote from Barbara Kingsolver says “she kept swimming out into life because she hadn’t yet found a rock to stand on,” and another whose author I don’t know “one does not discover new lands without consenting to lose sight of the shore for a very long time.”

I myself have spent my entire life swimming out into the vast openness of life. I’ve found rocks and rested on a few, but I didn’t stay for long. Some didn’t support my dreams, some didn’t support my physical health or life in general and some, well, some I just didn’t care for the view. I have allowed myself rest on sailing vessels, knowing I would still not be near a shore and not really knowing or caring where the ship would take me, its just that sometimes sailing is easier than swimming. Yet, I’ve never ended the voyage. At this point in my life, I’ve spent so much time in the open sea of life, I’m no longer just a drop of water, I’m part of life itself. I’ve become one of the waves

We are all searching, sometimes inwardly and sometimes outwardly. What concerns me is, do we really know what we are searching for and why we are searching? Is what we already have so bad? Is there something wrong with where we are or what we’re doing in life? If you answered yes to either or both questions, then I agree, swim out into the deep, get on the ship and sail. However, if you said no to either or both questions or if you even hesitated, then maybe it’s not really another destination, another place or way of being you are searching for. Maybe it’s all about the voyage itself.

Categories: Cultural Diversity, education, Energy Healing, Health, Law of Attraction, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, New Age, Psychology, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized, Yoga | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Waves in the Ocean

  1. So true! I absolutely loved this post, and I definitely needed the reminder to not hesitate to swim out into the sea of life. Thank you! 🙂

  2. Barbara Kingsolver is one of my favorite authors. She’s great with nature.

  3. Great blog, thanks for share this article with us

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

