Being a Tree Hugger

I’m a tree hugger and I’m proud of it. My facebook page is a whose who of save: wolves, bears, horses, rainforests, ethical treatment of pets, respecting water and air, you name it, I support it. But lately I’ve noticed that these posts seem to only enrage the proponents on the other side. There now seems to be a never ending abuse of power in that each side accuses the other side of spamming, unethical posts and dishonesty of every other kind.

So I’ve been soul searching about this issue. I do believe one person acting from a pure heart can make a difference. I’m doing my part and supporting agencies and individuals who do their part. I also support and hopefully aid the education necessary for these projects to become more widely known and supported.

But when have we stopped supporting a cause and crossed the line into invading others free will and personal freedoms? By constantly bombarding the social media sites with our tree (animal, water, air) hugging propaganda are we only stirring the pot, so to speak and making the other side more determined to carry out their missions as well? They do more, we do more, they do still more, we do still more, they do even still more and on, and on, and who wins?

Is there a better way to present the case for our causes which will soften the hearts of those who oppose us and open them to learning what we are trying to do for the planet? I truly believe fighting is not the answer, yet that seems to be most of the issue.

I’m open to hear what any of you think about this dilemma.

Categories: Earth Day, education, Energy Healing, Health, Law of Attraction, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, New Age, Psychology, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spirituality, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Being a Tree Hugger

  1. I think it has to do more with the psychology of how one words their language … for instance, you talk about yourself … how important these things are to you, etc. I doubt ANYone would find that offensive. In this arena, as in just about any arena out there … when someone starts being accusatory, instead of loving, that is when people get upset. I wouldn’t think that you would have to worry about that … but I am appreciative of your sensitivity to others :-).

  2. Hey lovebug. I’ve thought about this quite a bit. I think the balance comes when your aim is to educate about an issue versus trying to eradicate a problem. It’s especially difficult when you believe in a cause with all your heart. I know that any person who comes to me and tries to prove that they are right and I am wrong is likely going to be met with a girl who is going to dig in her heels no matter what the message is. It’s not that I am committed to being obtuse or even being right. It’s just that the energy of someone fighting for a cause naturally creates the opposing energy of another needing to defend their position.

    So my thought on this as your friend who sees the love you are trying to bring is that it would be wonderful if you could continue to educate those around you about all the wonderful ways we can support nature as opposed to stopping the destruction of it. Hope that makes sense. I have found this to hold true in my own world. Be like water. Gentle yet with the power to shape the face of the earth. Love and light to you always. 🙂 Jo

    • Katrina

      Thanks, and honestly I’ve not been in any true fights yet, but I see others I support and work with embattled and it worries me. And in many cases, one thing we’re trying to change is others innate fear of something (most people are terrified of wild animals and would rather kill than learn to life with safely) so educating someone on something they want to just kill and make go away is tough and emotions run high,but I agree with you 1000% thanks for the advice, support and love, have an amazing day, blessings

  3. I think another issue is that many people don’t like change and they are VERY suspicious of anyone with ideas that counter how they’ve been thinking their entire lives. They are so afraid of change that they will do anything, make up any lies, defend their side to the extreme, and simply discredit the tree hugger, so everyone wonders if the tree hugger is just plain nuts for thinking so differently. “After all,” says the anti-tree hugger, “hasn’t the world been revolving perfectly fine up until now?” 🙂

    • Katrina

      A good point, and in many cases we are trying to change many things which first must change thought processes and feelings – 2 things people resist changing at all costs. Thanks for reading and commenting, I’m getting some great ideas for posts and propaganda.

  4. Great post. It’s a good example of our culture’s innate tendency to polarize and frame everything as x vs. y. The tone of most public discourse is adversarial and angry. The deeper question is how can we start to change that? How do we begin to have public conversations about difficult topics that don’t degenerate into the usual spiteful confrontations we so often see in the mainstream media and on the internet? We have to be willing to listen if we want to be heard. We need to cultivate empathy, respect, courtesy, patience, openness… I could go on. But I think mostly we need courage.

    • Katrina

      I have the courage, unfortunately, that’s what usually gets me in trouble, all jokes aside, in most cases I understand the other side to a point (wolves eating livestock, bears menacing people, etc) but I still believe there’s solution for both sides.Thanks for reading, commenting and most of all, understanding,
      Namaste

  5. Hmmm… interesting question…I’d say, first of all, you’d have to satisfy the question, “what’s in it for me?” because that’s often the first thing those folks will think of…

  6. I come at this question from another point. It is the concept of “FACEBOOK” not really allowing us to see the other’s reactions or not really having to look them in the face as we are attempting to give our viewpoints (AND listen to theirs). I firmly believe FB is a very poor medium for differing points of view. It is a good medium to say hello to friends and but not a good place for “discussing” opposing points. I speak from experience. I no longer get involved in political, religious, environmental or other such things on FB.

    • Katrina

      I’ve wondered if that might be part of the problem, thanks for the insight.

  7. Honestly, I just feel like having the courage to stand up for something we believe in is half the battle. Well, maybe not half. However, supporting something that not everyone chooses to support is admirable in itself. I’m a tree hugger as well. Not in an extreme way, but to the point of saying that I care about nature and strive to have it treated like it should be by those of us who inhabit the earth. I think it is a big step just standing up for what we believe though, because it helps others around us become more aware of a situation that they may not know too much about to begin with.

    • Katrina

      Very well said, thanks for reading and keep us posted from Ireland, I’m so envious 🙂

  8. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read something like this before. So good to seek out someone with some unique thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this web site is something that’s wanted on the internet, someone with just a little originality. useful job for bringing something new to the web!

  9. I understand your dilemma. So often I try to post under the hope that I’m simply “promoting what I love.” My philosophy lately is to continue to do this and avoid getting into a spitting contest with those who don’t agree with me. I’m not one to argue. I like to present an idea and let law of attraction take the reins from there. Still, there are certainly some subjects that are simply too taboo for social media and I try to stay away from those.

    • Katrina

      I thought this is what I was doing, but lately the comments on fb have been so crude and offensive I’ve considered blocking some people, I’m also a proponent for freedom of speech but not when it comes out as a full on assault just because someone disagrees with me, I have to wonder about people. thanks for the support and understanding, I appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

