Simply Orange

Not the drink, but I do like it. Did you know the word ‘orange’ is the only word in the English language that has no rhyming word? And if you think about true orange shades they’re most commonly associated with food. There are oranges, tangerines, and then when you get to the darker shades there’s pumpkin and then of course that unique burnt orange color that you get from pumpkin pie. I’m getting hungry just thinking about it.

Orange is bright and cheerful, and even the darker shades have that crisp fall emotion attached. The color orange usually evokes that happy feeling associated with summer time or the melancholy of Indian summer, when leaves change colors, we start wearing sweaters, the days get shorter and Thanksgiving (and Christmas) are just around the corner.

As with yellow, I found nothing negative attached to orange. Although I think orange is one of the colors you have to be truly drawn to. Most people either love it or don’t. It is a color that usually holds some memory of comfort or happiness for the people who are drawn to it. You rarely find someone who says that ‘orange is just okay.’ (Okay, I know now that I said this, at least one of you will tell me that, but its all good, there is a point to the posts about colors, and we’re almost there.)

So, who out there likes / doesn’t like orange, which shades, and why?

Categories: Uncategorized | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Simply Orange

  1. I love those rich nutmeg or reddish shades of orange. They provide such wonderful contrast. Gotta love the orange!

    • Katrina

      That means you have a ‘fertile’ 2nd chakra, and healthy womb, meditate on that color and tell me what image or scene forms naturally for you, I’m interested to see how it develops for you.

  2. Paula

    Orange sherbet! Reminds me of summer and push-up pops. 🙂

    • Katrina

      I smiled when I read this, I haven’t had a push up pop in years, thanks for the memory

  3. Very informative post. Thanks freedomtoafulllife.wordpress.com for taking the time to share your view with us.

  4. When I was much younger a disliked the colour orange, but lately I like it more, especially when painting, if I mix a bit of bright red with the orange makes it quite bright.

    • Katrina

      I have (had) the same issue with green, I’ve only started really liking it (and still only certain shades) in the last few years,

  5. I love orange. It’s vibrant and delicious.

  6. Orange gives a joyful aura to me. I am indulged in this color nowadays 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

