Do You See What I See?

This post has been hard to write.  It doesn’t resonate with me but I feel compelled to post it.  I’m not advocating for taking away video games, action movies or books.  However, they should be age appropriate, and, for the record, I believe parents should use their own judgment as to when their children are ready for the video games, action movies, etc.  I feel like the message here is for an adult maybe dealing with something similar to what my client experienced.

One of my clients recently had a profound breakthrough with an issue which has plagued her basically her entire life.  Because of the senstive nature I can not share the details of the issue.  However, I can share what she discovered caused the issue.

In using the meditations I developed and some lucid dreaming techniques, after several days of extreme exhaustion she had a very intense dream.  At first she thought it was a coded message, the landscape appeared to be an area she was familiar with when she was small and she recognized some people, some she didn’t.  After closer examination she realized she was remembering something she witnessed as a baby.

Now, first let me say, if you take what she saw out of context, it was rather benign. However, she was probably only tweleve to eighteen months old.  Her little mind took this event and twisted it into something which affected a very crucial part of her life for far too long.  And in defense of the adults involved, I’m sure they thought she was too young to understand or for the event to register as a memory.  This event happened over fifty years ago and back then the medical/scientific/psychological communities didn’t realize our brains record and store everything and often these stored impressions are so deeply impressed in us that subconsciously they mutate and can cause issues.  Also, we know today that perception is everything.  What this event meant to the adults involved was far different then what registered in my client’s baby mind.

My point is be careful with your children.  As they grow and mature we should gradually expose them to the realities of life and teach them how to cope with these realities.  But not when they are very small. Babies and small children should be allowed to be babies and children.  I’m not advocating being over protective and we all know you can’t protect children from everything.  But there are two things babies and small children should never witness; arguments (especially if they escalate into full blown fights) or intimate moments (not talking about normal hugs and kisses but the more intense intimacy).  Babies are sponges and like our kitchen sponge, they pick up good and bad.  If the two mutate together the result could be a psycholological impression later in life they don’t want but can’t find the roots to pull out.

Also, for adults, we all have some issue, personality quirk, or habit we hate and can’t find the root cause of.  It may be something you witnessed when you were very small and your mind perceived it in such a way it mutated into your issue.  The event may not have been as bad as you perceived (or maybe it was, in that case find someone to talk to about it), but when looking at these issues you just can’t seem to solve, look deeper than your conscious memory.

Categories: Children, Cultural Diversity, Energy Healing, Health, Law of Attraction, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, New Age, Psychology, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Do You See What I See?

  1. Wise words, Katrina!

  2. I wasn’t allowed video games as a kid and instead had something called CDI (no longer around), in which I got to build and design cars and do more creative activities without the violence. Still, it really is unavoidable since my friends had video games with violence. At least I could make good decisions for myself 🙂

    • Katrina

      Video games came on the scene when I was in my early 20s, my daughter didn’t like them at all, but my grandson loves them, I think some of them are okay, especially the ones that are educational.

  3. This is such a sensitively written post and such wise words. I have never forgotten how badly affected Ming was (as a child) when at one of his first sleepovers at a friend’s place they showed the kids a vampire movie. He actually vomited at their house but they still didn’t turn it off. I only found out the next day – never confronted the parents because small country towns don’t do that – and he got over it. Everything you say here makes sense – thank you Katrina!

  4. Katrina

    poor Ming, and I understand about small country towns, I’m glad he got over it, thank you for the kind words,

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

