Pay Attention

Okay, now that I’ve got your attention, what are you focusing on?  Where are you directing your time, emotions and energy?  Regardless of whether or not you enjoy the holidays, this is an important time of year.  The days are shorter and the nights longer, colder, and darker.  The seasons are changing and many of us are feeling that need to hibernate.  Which is normal.  But be careful.  You may miss some beautiful events.

Yesterday, driving home, I realized it was much darker than the day before, even though I was heading home at the same time of day.  While relaxing and shaking off my day, I noticed the moon was later than usual coming up, at least later than the day before.  So, right about now some of you are thinking, this woman has no life if she is really aware of these minor events.  So, to you I say, not true at all.  I just choose to focus on events which give me peace.  I love the “tween” times.  The sun setting, the moon rising, day morphing into night.  Watching as each star begins to shine in its own time and way.  Or as night slips quietly by, the moon gently falling below the horizon as the sun breaks dawn and casts red and gold hues across the clouds before fully awakening day.  I forget my worries while watching rabbits graze in my yard, the ravens and magpies quarreling over bread crumbs or the smaller birds feasting from the bird feeders outside my kitchen window.  I embrace the longer, colder nights with a fire in the fireplace, my favorite music on the stereo while sipping a glass of wine.

These are conscious choices I make.  I could fume over the flat tire, or grumpy people.  I could worry about money, bills and the economy, or I could count cracks in the paint, smudges on the windows or tracks on the floor.  But, when I dismiss these minor inconveniences and focus my energy on sunset, moon rise, red and gold clouds, and birds visiting my space, my heart rate slows, my blood pressure drops, my breathing is deeper and more even.  So, what are you paying attention to?

Categories: Cultural Diversity, Energy Healing, Fun, Health, Law of Attraction, Meditation, Mental and Spiritual Health, Metaphysical, New Age, Old Ways, Psychology, Self Help, Self Improvement, Sociology, Spiritual Energy Healing, Spirituality, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Pay Attention

  1. The people i love in my life and wishing good health and happiness for all of them.- Have a good weekend x

  2. Great post Katrina…

  3. Pingback: 3:50 am. And, Inspired… – Lead.Learn.Live.

  4. I’m glad David Kanigan introduced me to you!

  5. Thank you for your beautiful post…a great and timely reminder to all. xo

  6. I discovered your blog website on google and examine a few of your early posts. Proceed to maintain up the superb operate. I just extra up your RSS feed to my MSN Information Reader. Seeking forward to studying extra from you later on!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

